Powered by Jitbit .Net Forum free trial version. dismiss
 
 
Register
Lost Pwd

HomeLeague Chat

Where rivalries begin and end.

Goalie Wars - Interpretation of the game rules. Messages in this topic - RSS

jersey
jersey
Posts: 1
2/19/2009
jersey
jersey
Posts: 1
My question is simply to get a clear understanding of the goalie war rule regarding the ball entering/leaving an area. I've read the 'game rules' but it doesn't discuss details. Here's a scenario....I hit a shot out of my zone and the ball hits a center rod then comes directly back to my zone. Do I keep the ball or does it go to the other player? Based on the wording in the 'game rules' I would guess I would keep the ball. Please provide detailed rules if they are available, or direct me to a website where those rules exist. Thank you.
<em>edited by jersey on 2/19/2009</em>
0 link
BillyBoy
BillyBoy
Administrator
Posts: 1087
2/20/2009
BillyBoy
BillyBoy
Administrator
Posts: 1087
Wayne, you are gay.
0 link
BillyBoy
BillyBoy
Administrator
Posts: 1087
2/20/2009
BillyBoy
BillyBoy
Administrator
Posts: 1087
I guess that didn't answer your question, though smile

I think it's funny that this comes from a prior "Goalie War Champion". LOL!

Actually, when I look at the "Game Rules" that I stuck on all the tables, it isn't as clear as it could be. It says:

"Game Rules" wrote:
Possession: When a ball goes dead between the two goalies, the last goalie to have
the ball in his area loses possession of the ball to the other player.
* A ball that strikes any of the rods in the center of the table is a live ball.

I am not sure if this is what is written in the official rules, verbatim. (This is because I abbreviated the rules in order to fit them all on one nice little sheet to hang at the league locations, just for convenience.)

Anyhow, I always tell people that the best way to think of the possession rules in Goalie War is:

once the ball leaves your area of control, you cannot legally hit it again until it leaves the other player's zone.

This is true even if the ball spins just out of your area and right back into it. I think this is a good rule, because it stresses the importance of containing the ball for a goalie. Any ball that leaves the goalie area should be assumed to have been claimed by another player.

Also, the forward and 5-bars are neutral (part of the field). In your example, the ball would go to the opponent, since it left your zone and never entered his.

I will re-write that section of the rules to make this clearer.
<em>edited by BillyBoy on 2/20/2009</em>
0 link
BillyBoy
BillyBoy
Administrator
Posts: 1087
2/22/2009
BillyBoy
BillyBoy
Administrator
Posts: 1087
Updated in rules to the following:


Possession: Once the ball leaves the goalie area of a player, “official possession” is
transferred to the opposing player until such time as it also enters and leaves that
player’s own goalie area. (A potential exception to this is the case where a player
strikes the ball into the opponent’s zone and off the table, where standard rules apply.)
* A ball that goes dead between the two goalies is re-served by the player with current
possession, as defined above.
* A ball that leaves a player’s goalie area and returns to his/her area without entering &
exiting the opponent’s area shall be re-served by the opposing goalie.
* A ball that strikes any of the rods in the center of the table is a live ball.
0 link




Powered by Jitbit Forum 8.3.8.0 © 2006-2013 Jitbit Software